Biblical Faith: An Evolutionary Approach

Front Cover
Fortress Press, 1985 - Religion - 194 pages
0 Reviews
In the tradition of Karl Rahner and Teilhard de Chardin, this book from renowned New Testament scholar Gerd Theissen daringly probes the innermost sanctuaries of the biblical tradition through the lens of evolutionary theory. Without associating evolution with a na?ve optimism about progress, Theissen shows how a thorough examination of the "cultural evolution" of the Christian faith can yield glimmers of a possible goal of history: "complete adaptation to the reality of God."
 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Selected pages

Contents

2 Jesus as wisdom teacher
93
3 Jesus as poet
96
4 Jesus as martyr
99
Evolutionary Aspects of Faith in Jesus
105
1 Jesus of Nazareth as a mutation of human life
106
b The problem of historical conditioning
108
c The problem of historical immanence
111
2 Jesus of Nazareth as a protest against the principle of selection
112

1 Science and faith as ways of coping with an unknown reality
19
b The possibility of experiences of resonance
20
c The central reality
22
2 Science and faith as ways of coping with the pressure of selection
26
3 Science and faith as openness to mutations
30
a Dependence on tradition
33
b Dependence on social conformity
34
c Dependence on authority
35
Faith in the One and Only God Biblical Monotheism in an Evolutionary Perspective
43
The Problem Monotheism and the Transition from Biological to Cultural Evolution
45
The Development of Biblical Monotheism A Historical Outline
51
1 The conflict over the exclusiveness of Yahweh
52
b The exclusive bond between Israel and Yahweh
54
2 The conflict over the uniqueness of Yahweh
58
3 The conflict over the universality of Yahweh
61
b The response of radical Hellenistic Judaism
62
c The response of primitive Christianity
63
Biblical Monotheism in an Evolutionary Perspective
64
2 Biblical monotheism as a protest against the principle of selection
67
3 Biblical monotheism as a structure for adapting to the central reality
72
a The God without images
73
b The God without a family
77
Faith in Jesus of Nazareth New Testament Christology in an Evolutionary Perspective
83
The Problem Revelation and History
85
The Proclamation and Ministry of Jesus of Nazareth A Historical Outline
89
1 Jesus as prophet
90
liberation from the pressure of selection
113
ethics directed against selection
114
overcoming the principle of selection
117
3 Jesus of Nazareth a successful adaptation to the central reality?
119
a God as coming king an illusionary expectation of an imminent end?
120
b God as heavenly father an illusionary regression to childhood?
123
Faith in the Holy Spirit The Experience of the Spirit in an Evolutionary Perspective
129
The Problem Can the New Life be Realized?
131
Experiences of the Holy Spirit in Primitive Christianity A Historical Outline
134
2 The Spirit in conflict with social divisions and the primitive Christian social mysticism
136
3 The Spirit in conflict with the finitude of human awareness and human life
138
The Experience of the Spirit in an Evolutionary Perspective 1 The Spirit as a mutation of humanity and the problem of Christian anthropology
140
a Renewal by the Spirit and human nature
141
b Renewal by the Spirit and human tradition
147
2 The Spirit as motivation against selection and the problem of ecclesiology
152
a The social ambivalence of biblical faith in Israel
153
b The social ambivalence of biblical faith in the church
158
3 The Spirit as adaptation to the ultimate reality and the problem of eschatology
163
a Hope in chance
167
b Hope in necessity
168
c Hope as justification
171
Abbreviations
175
Notes
177
Index
191
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

Bibliographic information