Front Cover
Bantam Books, 1988 - Fiction - 291 pages
3 Reviews
The acclaimed author of "Rubyfruit Jungle and "Six Of One retums to Runnymede, Maryland, for an outrageous, poignant, and surprising story of passion, rivalry, and small-town fun. Straddling the Mason-Dixon Line since before the Civil War is Runnymede. And it seems that ever since then, most people in the town have been inherently split: between good and bad, or love and sex, or male and female, or politics and sobriety. Nicole ("Nickel") Smith is in such a dilemma herself--here she is, an avowed lesbian, having an affair that would shock Runnymede as much as it shocks Nickel herself. And her work seems to be going to the dogs, too, when the beloved newspaper where she is an editor is put up for sale. Thank goodness the weekly bingo games still go on, though Nickel is a little weary of playing referee there for the flamboyant Hunsenmeir sisters, Louise and Julia. Nickel's momma, who is now pushing ninety but clawing like cats over handsome newcomer Ed Tutweiler Walters. A parade of townsfolk and kin weave their colorful way through the trials, tribulations, and ultimate triumphs of our heroines, in this spirited novel of the South that appeals as much to the funny bone as to the heart.

"From the Paperback edition.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - shelleyraec - LibraryThing

Not in the same leauge as Six for One which was priceless but an entertaining read all the same. The only thing that bugged me is how Nickel went from architecture (in Six of One) to a newspaper reporter iwth a whole lot of tradition behind it unmentioned previously, Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - tealover - LibraryThing

Well, the Hunsenmeir sister (Louise and Julia ) did it again! Part two of the tale of two sisters living in Runnymade, a town split apart by the Mason - Dixon Line. Much older but none the wiser ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1988)

Rita Mae Brown was born in Hanover, Pennsylvania, on November 28, 1944. She received an associate's degree from Broward Junior College in 1965, a B.A. in English and classics from New York University in 1968, a Cinematography Degree from the School of the Visual Arts in 1968, and a Ph.D. in English and political science from the Institute for Policy Studies in 1976. She was the writer-in-residence at the Women's Writing Center of Cazenovi College and a visiting instructor teaching fiction writing at the University of Virginia. After publishing two books of poetry, she published her first novel, Rubyfruit Jungle, in 1973. Her works include The Hand that Cradles the Rock, Sudden Death, Venus Envy, Loose Lips, and Rita Will: Memoir of a Literary Rabble-Rouser. She writes the Mrs. Murphy Mystery series and Foxhunting Mysteries series. She also writes screenplays and teleplays including Sweet Surrender, Room to Move, Table Dancing, and The Long Hot Summer. Her work on TV earned several Emmy nominations and she received the Writers Guild of America Award for Best Variety Show in 1982 for I Love Liberty.

Bibliographic information