Black Water Rising: A Novel

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Jun 9, 2009 - Fiction - 448 pages
30 Reviews

Writing in the tradition of Dennis Lehane and Greg Iles, Attica Locke, a powerful new voice in American fiction, delivers a brilliant debut thriller that readers will not soon forget.

Jay Porter is hardly the lawyer he set out to be. His most promising client is a low-rent call girl and he runs his fledgling law practice out of a dingy strip mall. But he's long since made peace with not living the American Dream and carefully tucked away his darkest sins: the guns, the FBI file, the trial that nearly destroyed him.

Houston, Texas, 1981. It is here that Jay believes he can make a fresh start. That is, until the night in a boat out on the bayou when he impulsively saves a woman from drowning—and opens a Pandora's box. Her secrets put Jay in danger, ensnaring him in a murder investigation that could cost him his practice, his family, and even his life. But before he can get to the bottom of a tangled mystery that reaches into the upper echelons of Houston's corporate power brokers, Jay must confront the demons of his past.

With pacing that captures the reader from the first scene through an exhilarating climax, Black Water Rising marks the arrival of an electrifying new talent.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
5
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - KarenHerndon - LibraryThing

This is one of the best mystery/ thrillers I have read in some time. I liked everything about te book- story plot, characters, writing style, even the ending. My hope is to see more written by this author. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - bfister - LibraryThing

A disolusioned young lawyer, afraid that his activist past will destroy his tenuous hold on a middle-class existence, is sucked into investigating a murder connected to the oil industry when a white ... Read full review

All 3 reviews »

Contents

Section 1
3
Section 2
24
Section 3
42
Section 4
52
Section 5
64
Section 6
73
Section 7
82
Section 8
92
Section 17
220
Section 18
231
Section 19
245
Section 20
260
Section 21
277
Section 22
291
Section 23
304
Section 24
326

Section 9
108
Section 10
122
Section 11
130
Section 12
146
Section 13
167
Section 14
180
Section 15
194
Section 16
207
Section 25
339
Section 26
357
Section 27
373
Section 28
389
Section 29
402
Section 30
420
Section 31
429
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

Attica Locke is the author of Black Water Rising, which was nominated for an Edgar Award, an NAACP Image Award, and a Los Angeles Times Book Prize, and was short-listed for the UK’s Orange Prize, and also the national bestseller The Cutting Season, which won an Ernest Gaines Award for Literary Excellence. She is a producer and writer on the Fox drama Empire. She is on the board of directors for the Library Foundation of Los Angeles, where she lives.

Bibliographic information