Blinded by the Right: The Conscience of an Ex-conservative

Front Cover
Crown Publishers, 2002 - History - 336 pages
5 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
In a powerful and deeply personal memoir in the tradition of Arthur Koestler's The God That Failed, David Brock, the original right-wing scandal reporter, chronicles his rise to the pinnacle of the conservative movement and his painful break with it.
David Brock pilloried Anita Hill in a bestseller. His reporting in "The American Spectator as part of the infamous "Arkansas Project" triggered the course of events that led to the historic impeachment trial of President Clinton. Brock was at the center of the right-wing dirty tricks operation of the Gingrich era-and a true believer-until he could no longer deny that the political force he was advancing was built on little more than lies, hate, and hypocrisy.
In Blinded By the Right, Brock, who came out of the closet at the height of his conservative renown, tells his riveting story from the beginning, giving us the first insider's view of what Hillary Rodham Clinton called "the vast right-wing conspiracy." Whether dealing with the right-wing press, the richly endowed think tanks, Republican political operatives, or the Paula Jones case, Brock names names from Clarence Thomas on down, uncovers hidden links, and demonstrates how the Republican Right's zeal for power created the poisonous political climate that culminated in George W. Bush's election.
Already making national headlines, David Brock writes with stunning candor about a fascinating but deeply disturbing period of American politics. Blinded By the Right is a classic political memoir of our times.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - keylawk - LibraryThing

I give the author, a journalist, one of my HIGH ratings for one reason: He takes on one of the most malevolent and well-funded conspiracies active in Politics today, from the inside. And he did it in ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - quantum_flapdoodle - LibraryThing

The author of the hatchet job on Anita Hill decides to switch allegiance, and this is his explanation of why. For anyone expecting a mea culpa, be prepared for a book where the author simply decides ... Read full review

Contents

Chapter
1
Chapter
21
Chapter Three
48
Copyright

14 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2002)

David Brock, a writer in Washington, D.C., is the author of The Real Anita Hill and The Seduction of Hillary Rodham. He has written for Esquire, New York, Rolling Stone, Talk, and the New York Times and Washington Post op-ed pages. He appears regularly on television talk shows, and his work has been featured on National Public Radio.

Bibliographic information