Bloodsworth: The True Story of One Man's Triumph over Injustice

Front Cover
Algonquin Books, Oct 14, 2005 - Biography & Autobiography - 304 pages
0 Reviews
Fans of Serial and Making a Murderer, meet Kirk Bloodsworth, the first death row inmate exonerated by DNA evidence.
 
Charged with the rape and murder of a nine-year-old girl in 1984, Bloodsworth was tried, convicted, and sentenced to die in Maryland's gas chamber. From the beginning, he proclaimed his innocence, but when he was granted a new trial because his prosecutors improperly withheld evidence, the second trial also resulted in conviction.
 
Bloodsworth read every book on criminal law in the prison library and persuaded a new lawyer to petition for the then-innovative DNA testing. After nine years in one of the harshest prisons in America, Bloodsworth was vindicated by DNA evidence.
 
Intense and hard-hitting, Bloodsworth is the story of a man’s tireless fight against a justice system that failed him.
 
 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2005)

Tim Junkin is a lawyer and an award-winning novelist who lives in Maryland.

Bibliographic information