Bloodsworth: The True Story of the First Death Row Inmate Exonerated by DNA Evidence

Front Cover
Algonquin Books, Oct 14, 2005 - True Crime - 304 pages
Fans of Serial and Making a Murderer, meet Kirk Bloodsworth, the first death row inmate exonerated by DNA evidence.
 
Charged with the rape and murder of a nine-year-old girl in 1984, Bloodsworth was tried, convicted, and sentenced to die in Maryland's gas chamber. From the beginning, he proclaimed his innocence, but when he was granted a new trial because his prosecutors improperly withheld evidence, the second trial also resulted in conviction.
 
Bloodsworth read every book on criminal law in the prison library and persuaded a new lawyer to petition for the then-innovative DNA testing. After nine years in one of the harshest prisons in America, Bloodsworth was vindicated by DNA evidence.
 
Intense and hard-hitting, Bloodsworth is the story of a man’s tireless fight against a justice system that failed him.
 
 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - ReluctantTechie - www.librarything.com

A riveting account of the criminal justice system gone wrong amidst the powerful drive to solve an horrific crime. And it's a compelling story of an innocent man who never gives up trying to clear his ... Read full review

Bloodsworth: the true story of the first death row inmate exonerated by DNA

User Review  - Not Available - www.bookverdict.com

DNA testing has become such an important part of the criminal justice system that it is difficult to imagine a time when it was unknown. Yet that was the case in 1984 when Kirk Bloodsworth was ... Read full review

Contents

A Stain Lifted
1
A Crime in Fontana Village
25
A Composite a Profile a Gambit
41
Trial and Error
103
The Death House
169
Broken Justice
195
Freedom
237
Epilogue
279
Authors Note and Acknowledgments
287
Bibliography
289
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2005)

Tim Junkin is a lawyer and an award-winning novelist who lives in Maryland.

Bibliographic information