Front Cover
Alfred Music Publishing, 1998 - Music - 7 pages
0 Reviews
For five players. This series contains several of Lou's percussion ensembles written for more advanced percussionists. The instrumentation is diverse, containing conventional and unconventional instruments. These are the works of a true master! Instrumentation is: maracas, 3 flower pots (Player I); metal rattles, 3 muted brake drums, 3 suspended brake drums (Player II); thundersheet, 3 temple blocks (Player III); rasp, 3 Chinese woodblocks (Player IV); tam-tam, bass drum (Player V).

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (1998)

Born in Portland, Oregon, Lou Harrison became a composer of the avant-garde. He studied with Henry Cowell and Arnold Schoenberg, both of whom greatly influenced Harrison's work and plunged him into the crosscurrents of modern music. He has composed for various instruments, including those for orchestra, chamber, and voice. Harrison was one of the earliest adherents of a small group of American musicians who promoted the music of Charles Ives, Carl Ruggles, Edgard Varese, and Henry Cowell. During the 1960s Harrison sought new sources of sound production. As a result, he organized a percussion ensemble of multitudinous drums and such common noisemakers as coffee cans and flower pots. Harrison traveled to Japan and Korea in order to study modalities and rhythmic structure and has composed music for gamelan, an orchestra of Indonesian instruments.

Bibliographic information