Book Talk: Essays on Books, Booksellers, Collecting, and Special Collections

Front Cover
Robert H. Jackson, Carol Zeman Rothkopf
Oak Knoll Press, 2006 - Literary Collections - 265 pages
0 Reviews
Following in the tradition of John Carter, Graham Pollard, and Michael Sadlier, Book Talk: Essays on Books, Booksellers, Collecting and Special Collectionstakes the reader on a tour of some major ideas and controversies now current in the rare book world. Robert H. Jackson has assembled these writings of an eminent group of scholors, publishers, librarians, booksellers, and collectors that address issues facing contemporary society. Topics such as the future of the book in a printed-format, the internet and collecting trends are some of the issues discussed. This important work belongs on the reading list of all book lovers.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Contents

The Past Present and Future of the Book Jason Epstein
3
The PreSocratic Project and Remarks on
39
The Woodcut in Ferrara in
57
The Messiah Factor in Bookselling Tom Congalton
83
Adventures of a Bookseller Priscilla Juvelis
109
A Brief Survey of
123
Some Thoughts on the Maturing of
139
My Adventures in Academe Anthony Garnett
155
A Book Collector Builds A Life Arthur L Schwarz
183
The Future of Book Collecting Paul T Ruxin
195
What Can A Librarian Do? Roger E Stoddard
205
Collecting Trends
223
Didnt Know You Had That
235
Contributors
245
Index
251
Copyright

Will the Book Collector of Today be
169

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2006)

Essays & Authors in Book Talk Books The Past, Present, and Future of the Book - Jason Epstein "Only Copy Known": Random Reflections on Rarity - Bruce Whiteman Books That Everyone Has Forgotten Some Preliminary Notes on Low Spots in Literature - Garret Scott The Pre-Socratic Project and Remarks on the Philosophical Side of Fine Printing - Peter Rutledge Koch The Woodcut in Ferrara in the Late Fifteenth Century - Daniel DeSimone Aurora Australis (1908), Edited by Ernest H. Shackelton: A New Description of the First State of the First Book Published on the Antarctic Continent - Martin L. Greene Booksellers The Messiah Factor in Bookselling - Tom Congalton The American Antiquarian Book Trade: Yesterday, Today, and Tomorrow - John Crichton Adventures of a Bookseller - Priscilla Juvelis Roxburghe to Ebay: A Brief Survey of the Way Books Change Hands - Peter Kraus Some Thoughts on the Maturing of the Rare Book Market - Ken Lopez My Adventures in Academe - Anthony Garnett Collecting Will the Book Collector of Today be the Donor of Tomorrow? - Robert H. Jackson A Book Collector builds a Life - Arthur L. Schwarz The Future of Book Collecting - Paul T. Ruxin Special Collections What Can a Librarian Do? - Roger E. Stoddard An Embarrassment of Riches: Collecting Trends in Institutional Special Collections - Sam Streit I Didn't Know You Had That!: Resuscitating Special Collections - Geoffrey D. Smith

Bibliographic information