Breakdown in Axeblade

Front Cover
Pocket Books, 1989 - Juvenile Fiction - 150 pages
While vacationing in Wyoming, Frank and Joe spend a night camping in a national park, where they are attacked by five men wearing ski masks. Later they discover an illegal toxic waste site and find themselves in a rock slide that could make this case their last.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Unfriendly Welcome
No Help in Sight
Cowboys and Hardys

12 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1989)

Franklin W. Dixon Franklin W. Dixon is actually a pseudonym for any number of ghostwriters who have had the distinction of writing stories for the Hardy Boys series. The series was originally created by Edward Stratmeyer in 1926, the same mastermind of the Nancy Drew detective series, Tom Swift, the Rover Boys and other characters. While Stratmeyer created the outlines for the original series, it was Canadian writer Leslie McFarlane who breathed life to the stories and created the persona Franklin W. Dixon. McFarlane wrote for the series for over twenty years and is credited with success of the early collection of stories. As the series became more popular, it was pared down, the format changed and new ghostwriters added their own flavor to the stories. Part of the draw of the Hardy Boys is that as the authors changed, so to did the times and the story lines. While there is no one true author of the series, each ghostwriter can be given credit for enhancing the life of this series and never unveiling that there really is no Franklin W. Dixon.

Bibliographic information