Brewer's Dictionary of Irish Phrase & Fable

Front Cover
Weidenfeld & Nicholson, 2004 - Reference - 867 pages
0 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
In the tradition of Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable comes the most complete single-volume reference guide to the folklore, language and culture of Ireland. Authors Jo O'Donoghue and Sean McMahon cover an impressive range of subjects in over 5000 entries, with special attention paid to the unique legends, superstitions and fables of the Emerald Isle. Other topics addressed include contemporary Irish culture, the origins of Irish words and sayings, and Irish literature throughout the ages. At once scholarly and whimsical, this is a truly indispensable trove of fact and fancy for any lover of Irish culture.

What people are saying - Write a review

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

Brewer's dictionary of Irish phrase & fable

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Everything you ever wanted to know about Irish folklore, language, and culture is packed into this new Brewer's Dictionary . Over 5000 alphabetized and cross-referenced entries succinctly but ... Read full review

About the author (2004)

Maeve Binchy was born in Dublin, Ireland on May 28, 1940. She received a B.A. from University College in Dublin in 1960. After teaching at a school for girls, she became a journalist, columnist and editor at the Irish Times. By 1979, she was writing plays, a successful television script, and several short story collections. Her first novel, Light a Penny Candle, was published in 1982. During her lifetime, she wrote more than 20 books including Silver Wedding, Scarlet Feather, Heart and Soul, Minding Frankie, and A Week in Winter. The Lilac Bus and Echoes were made into TV movies, while Circle of Friends, Tara Road and How About You were made into feature films. Her title Chestnut Street is a New York Times Best Seller. She died after a brief illness on July 30, 2012 at the age of 72.

Bibliographic information