Burial Rites

Front Cover
Picador, 2014 - Biographical fiction - 352 pages
In northern Iceland, 1829, Agnes Magnusdottir is condemned to death for her part in the brutal murder of two men. Agnes is sent to wait out the months leading up to her execution on the farm of district officer Jon Jonsson, his wife and their two daughters. Horrified to have a convicted murderess in their midst, the family avoid contact with Agnes. Only Toti, the young assistant priest appointed her spiritual guardian, will listen to Agnes's side of the story. As the year progresses and the hardships of rural life force everyone to work side by side, the family's attitude to Agnes starts to change, until one winter night, she begins her whispered confession to them, and they realize that all is not as they had assumed.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - JessicaReadsThings - LibraryThing

Seriously, wow! Gorgeous writing. Lyrical and evocative prose. Sympathetic and well-drawn characters. Just beautiful. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - thiscatsabroad - LibraryThing

Superb! Absolutely superb! Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2014)

Hannah Kent's first novel, the international bestseller, Burial Rites (2013), was translated into over 30 languages and won the ABIA Literary Fiction Book of the Year, the Indie Awards Debut Fiction Book of the Year, the ABA Nielsen Bookdata Bookseller's Choice Award, the Victorian Premier's People's Choice Award and the FAW Christina Stead Award. It is currently being adapted for film by Sony TriStar. Hannah's second novel, The Good People (2016), was also translated into many languages and is currently being adapted for film by Aquarius Productions. Hannah's third novel, Devotion, will be published in November 2021.

Bibliographic information