Front Cover
Penguin Random House Australia, Sep 28, 2009 - Fiction - 222 pages
26 Reviews
On the verge of her fourteenth birthday, Plum knows her life will change. But she has no idea how.
Over the coming weeks, her beautiful neighbour Maureen will show her how she might fly. Her adored older brothers will court catastrophe in worlds that she barely knows exist. And her friends - her worst enemies - will tease and test, smelling weakness. They will try to lead her on and take her down.
Who ever forgets what happens when you're fourteen?
'Lucid and beautiful, compassionate yet unflinching, enigmatic yet touching, sometimes tragic sometimes funny . . . a writer at the height of her powers.' Weekend Australian
'Rich, visceral . . . Hartnett's tiny domestic insights unleash a tornado of human experience.' Herald Sun
'Hartnett's prose is breathtakingly good . . . Will make adult female readers shiver with gladness at being all grown up.' Big Issue
'Full of insight and wit.' The Guardian

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Cheryl_in_CC_NV - LibraryThing

In any other hands this would be about self-absorbed dysfunctional losers doing trivially ugly things. ? The prose would be purple, flowery. ? The pacing would be unbearably slow. ? But Hartnett is a ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - jodes101 - LibraryThing

Sonya Hartnett is a master at reminding you of what it is like to be a child. This story is about a 13 year old girl and the centre of her universe is of course her friends and her position in the ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2009)

Sonya Hartnett's work has won numerous Australian and international literary prizes and has been published around the world. Uniquely, she is acclaimed for her stories for adults, young adults and children. Her accolades include the Commonwealth Writers' Prize (Of A Boy), The Age Book of the Year (Of A Boy), the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize (Thursday's Child), the Children's Book Council of Australia Book of the Year for both Older and Younger Readers (Forest, The Silver Donkey, The Ghost's Child, The Midnight Zoo and The Children of the King), the Victorian Premier's Literary Award (Surrender), shortlistings for the Miles Franklin Award (for both Of a Boy and Butterfly) and the CILP Carnegie Medal (The Midnight Zoo). Hartnett is also the first Australian recipient of the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (2008).

In 2014, Hartnett published a new novel for adults, Golden Boys, and her third picture book, The Wild One.

Bibliographic information