Call If You Need Me: The Uncollected Fiction and Other Prose

Front Cover
Vintage Books, Jan 1, 2001 - Fiction - 300 pages
0 Reviews
A VINTAGE CONTEMPORARIES ORIGINAL

A literary event: Raymond Carver's complete uncollected fiction and nonfiction, including the recently discovered "last" stories, found a decade after Carver's death and published here in book form for the first time.

Call If You Need Me includes all of the prose previously collected in No Heroics, Please, four essays from Fires, and those five marvelous stories that range over the period of Carver's mature writing and give his devoted readers a final glimpse of the great writer at work. The pure pleasure of Carver's writing is everywhere in his work, here no less than in those stories that have alreadey entered the canon of modern literature.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

CALL IF YOU NEED ME: The Uncollected Fiction and Other Prose

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

A presumably final gathering of work left behind by the writer (1938-88) many considered the American Chekhov: a compassionate and artful chronicler of "ordinary" lives.In her warmhearted foreword ... Read full review

Call if you need me: the uncollected fiction and other prose

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

The five previously uncollected stories that begin this volume are described as Carver's "last of the last" to be published. They follow his established form of finding meaningful and resonant moments ... Read full review

Contents

Kindling
7
What Would You Like to See?
21
Dreams
38
Copyright

9 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2001)

Born in 1938 in an Oregon logging town, Raymond Carver grew up in Yakima, From California he went to Iowa to attend the Iowa Writers Workshop. Soon, however, he returned to California, where he worked at a number of unskilled jobs before obtaining a teaching position. Widely acclaimed as the most important short story writer of his generation, Carver writes about the kind of lower-middle-class people whom he knew growing up. His characters are waitresses, mechanics, postmen, high school teachers, factory workers, door-to-door salesmen who lead drab lives because of limited funds. Critics have said that may have the most distinctive vision of the working class. Nominated posthumously for both a National Book Critics Circle Award (1988) and a Pulitzer Prize (1989) for Where I'm Calling From: New and Selected Stories (1988), Carver is one of a handful of writers credited with reviving the short story form. Some have put Carver in the tradition of Ernest Hemingway and Stephen Crane. Carver's stories tend to be brief, with enigmatic endings, although never erupting. Violence is often just below the surface. An air of quiet desperation pervades his stories, as Carver explores the collapse of human relationships in bleak circumstances. In later works, Carver strikes a note of redemption, unheard at the beginning of his career. But for readers who are not attuned to Carver's voice of resignation, these moments may sound sentimental and unconvincing. Carver died of lung cancer in 1988.

Bibliographic information