Camouflage: Stories

Front Cover
Macmillan, Jun 1, 2003 - Fiction - 208 pages
0 Reviews
From the “world-class Australian novelist” (The New York Times) comes a deft, angular, and highly entertaining collection of stories. “The Seduction of My Sister” tells of the increasingly bizarre events between siblings when a new family moves in across the street, while “Healing” recalls a vanished time when a boy’s headlong, innocent rush into certain disaster could be averted by a simple miracle. A man named Huebler decides to photograph everyone alive, and an unassuming piano-tuner is sent to the center of Australia in 1943 to contribute to the war effort. A captivating, piquant collection from a master of the craft.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

CAMOUFLAGE: Stories

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Kitchen-sink realism and fantastic hyperbole are skillfully blended in this entertaining collection of 14 stories by the Australian author of the highly praised Eucalyptus (1998), etc.Most of the ... Read full review

Camouflage: stories

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Readers who enjoy fanciful, postmodern work in the tradition of Donald Barthelme and Italo Calvino will enjoy this delightful collection of gleefully absurdist short stories by acclaimed Australian ... Read full review

Contents

The Seduction of My Sister
3
The Drovers Wife
25
Zoellners Definition
41
Portrait of Electricity 5 5
55
CuldeSac uncompleted
89
The Partitions
119
Home Ownership
131
Camouflage
176
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2003)

Murray Bail has won numerous prizes for his novels--Eucalyptus, Homesickness, and Holden's Performance--including the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Eucalyptus. He lives in Sydney, Australia.

Bibliographic information