Camouflage

Front Cover
Text Publishing Company, May 16, 2010 - Fiction - 96 pages
0 Reviews
One of Australia's most respected and admired writers, Murray Bail's wry humour and haunting power are fully realised in these compelling stories.

In the brilliant title story 'Camouflage' Eric Banerjee, an unassuming Adelaide piano tuner is sent north to contribute to Australia's war effort in 1942. His experiences unexpectedly become some of the happiest of his life.

Accompanying it is one of Bail's masterly pieces of short fiction, 'The Seduction of My Sister', a weird and compelling account of sibling rivalry and love.

Murray Bail's short stories have been published widely both in Australia and the UK and have also appeared in the New Yorker magazine. His much-loved novel Eucalyptus, was the winner of the Commonwealth Writers Prize and The Miles Franklin Award.

'Both these stories are remarkable, in utterly different ways: they exhibit the restraint and license of a true literary master.' Peter Craven, Australian Book Review

What people are saying - Write a review

CAMOUFLAGE: Stories

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Kitchen-sink realism and fantastic hyperbole are skillfully blended in this entertaining collection of 14 stories by the Australian author of the highly praised Eucalyptus (1998), etc.Most of the ... Read full review

Camouflage: stories

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Readers who enjoy fanciful, postmodern work in the tradition of Donald Barthelme and Italo Calvino will enjoy this delightful collection of gleefully absurdist short stories by acclaimed Australian ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Born in Adelaide in 1941, Murray Bail now lives in Sydney. Bail’s short stories have been published widely both in Australia and the UK, and have appeared in the New Yorker magazine. His first novel, Homesickness (1980), won two major literary awards: the National Book Council Award for Australian literature and the Age Book of the Year Award. His much-loved novel Eucalyptus was the winner of the Commonwealth Writers Prize and The Miles Franklin Award. His most recent, acclaimed books are Holden's Performance and The Pages.

Bibliographic information