Camouflage: Stories

Front Cover
Farrar, Straus and Giroux, Jun 1, 2003 - Fiction - 208 pages
0 Reviews
Superb -- and surprising -- new fiction from the Australian master

A man named Huebler decides to photograph everyone alive. A suburban father perches in his son's tree house to spy on his friends. A dentist recognizes his estranged wife in a famous painting. "The Seduction of My Sister" tells of the increasingly bizarre events involving a boy and his sister when a new family moves in across the street. And in "Camouflage," Eric Banerjee, an unassuming Adelaide piano tuner, is sent north to the center of Australia in 1943 to make his contribution to the war effort.

It is clear in all these remarkable stories that Murray Bail -- already celebrated for his novels -- has also extended the manifold possibilities of short fiction. Each of his stories creates a strange and fascinating new world, and none of them is easily forgotten. Bail's work in this collection is deft, angular, and very entertaining; the mastery of his art is fully revealed with wry humor and haunting power.

What people are saying - Write a review

CAMOUFLAGE: Stories

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Kitchen-sink realism and fantastic hyperbole are skillfully blended in this entertaining collection of 14 stories by the Australian author of the highly praised Eucalyptus (1998), etc.Most of the ... Read full review

Camouflage: stories

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Readers who enjoy fanciful, postmodern work in the tradition of Donald Barthelme and Italo Calvino will enjoy this delightful collection of gleefully absurdist short stories by acclaimed Australian ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2003)

Murray Bail's novels -- Eucalyptus, Homesickness, and Holden's Performance -- have been prizewinners in his native Australia; Eucalyptus also won the Commonwealth Writers Prize. He lives in Sydney.

Bibliographic information