Cape Grimm

Front Cover
HarperCollins Publishers Australia, 2005 - Australian fiction - 318 pages
0 Reviews
An evil wind blows through the air of Bass Strait, promising the birth of a charismatic child. On the far northwest coast of tasmania at Cape Grimm lies the isolates community of Skye, which practises a religion that reveres the imagination. When Caleb Mean is born, his grandmother has a vision telling her he is the Chosen One. On Caleb's 33rd birthday, he locks the whole community into the meeting hall and incinerates them. the only survivors are Caleb, his lover Virginia, and their baby daughter, Golden. How could such a thing happen? Do the answers lie in the history of Skye itself, founded by the unlikely survivors of a 19th-century shipwreck? Or do the only real clues lie in the dark truths of fairytales? Cape Grimm is a chilling and bewitching novel about the terrible power of faith, and confirms Carmel Bird as one of our finest and most original writers.

What people are saying - Write a review

Cape Grimm

User Review  - Thorpe-Bowker and Contributors - Books+Publishing

Caleb Mean has been brought up in the isolated community of Skye at Cape Grimm, raised to believe he is The Chosen One. One day he gathers the entire society in a meeting hall and sets it ablaze. Only ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2005)

Carmel Bird is an Australian author and former teacher, born and raised in Launceston, Tasmania, in 1940. She taught fiction writing at the university level at Melbourne, Deakin, Latrobe, Monash, Swinburne and RMIT Universities. She has been writing since 1976 and is the author of novels, short story collections, nonfiction, children's books, and has edited anthologies. Dimitra was her first collection and was published in 1981 and My Hearts are Your Hearts was published in 2015. Cherry Ripe was her first novel, published in 1985, and Family Skeleton, published in 2016, is her most recent. Dear Writer, published in 1988, was her first nonfiction book and Fair Game was published in 2015. She wrote two children's books, The Mouth (1996) and The Cassowary's Quiz (1998). The Writing on the Wall: Collection of Poetry and Prose by Women (1985) was her first work as an editor, and The Penguin Century of Australian Stories was published in 2000. She has written book reviews for the Australian Book Review. Her awards include winning the Philip Hodgins Memorial Medal at the Mildura Writer's Festival (2001) and in 2016, winning the Patrick White Literary Award.

Bibliographic information