Case of a Lifetime: A Criminal Defense Lawyer's Story

Front Cover
St. Martin's Press, Jul 22, 2008 - Law - 256 pages
0 Reviews

A recent study estimates that thousands of innocent people are wrongfully imprisoned each year in the United States. Some are exonerated through DNA evidence, but many more languish in prison because their convictions were based on faulty eyewitness accounts and no DNA is available. Prominent criminal lawyer and law professor Abbe Smith weaves together real life cases to show what it is like to champion the rights of the accused. Smith describes the moral and ethical dilemmas of representing the guilty and the weighty burden of fighting for the innocent, including the victorious story of how she helped free a woman wrongly imprisoned for nearly three decades.

For fans of Law and Order and investigative news programs like 20/20, Case of a Lifetime is a chilling look at what really determines a person's innocence.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

CASE OF A LIFETIME: A Criminal Defense Lawyer's Story

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Criminal-defense attorney Smith (Law/Georgetown Univ.) describes her attempt to liberate a wrongfully imprisoned woman.The author was a second-year law student in 1980 when she met convicted felon ... Read full review

Contents

Prologue
3
Innocence
13
Truth
63
Copyright

5 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

Abbe Smith is the Co-Director of the Criminal Justice Clinic and Professor of Law at Georgetown Law School. She began her career as a public defender and has been a criminal lawyer for more than 25 years. She lives in Washington, D.C.

Bibliographic information