Cellophane: Plays

Front Cover
Johns Hopkins University Press, 2001 - Drama - 398 pages
0 Reviews
Celebrated for his dizzying linguistic inventions, his experimental narratives, his biting social and political critiques, and his absurdist sense of humour, Mac Wellman has become one of America's leading avant-garde playwrights. In this volume, Wellman offers the 11 plays that he considers his most important: Albanian Softshoe, Mister Original Bugg, Cleveland, Bad Penny, Cellophane, Three Americanisms, Fnu Lnu, Girl Gone, Hypatia, The Sandalwood Box, and Cat's-Paw. Written between 1983 and 1998, they showcase Wellman's on-going exploration of the limits of language and the consequences of humanity in the post-modern world. Also included in this volume is his essay on the theatre, A Chrestomathy of 22 Answers to 22 Wholly Unaskable and Unrelated Questions Concerning Political and Poetic Theater.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Cellophane: plays

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Wellman, a two-time Obie Award winner, is one of America's leading avant-garde playwrights. This collection of his most important plays includes "Cellophane," a language experiment based on "a debased ... Read full review


Albanian Softshoe
Mister Original Bugg
A Play at Bow Bridge

7 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2001)

Mac Wellman's recent work includes The Difficulty of Crossing a Field (with composer David Lang) at Montclair State University in the fall of 2006, and 1965 UU, for performer Paul Lazar, directed by Stephen Mellor at the Chocolate Factory in the fall of 2008. He is also working on two plays for chorus: The Invention of Tragedy (Classic Stage Company) and Nine Days Falling (commissioned by the Stuck Pigs Company of Melbourne, Australia). He has received numerous honors, including both NEA and Guggenheim Fellowships. In 2003 he received his third Obie, for Lifetime Achievement. In 2006 his third novel, Q'S Q, was published by Green Integer, and in 2008, a volume of stories entitled A CHRONICLE OF THE MADNESS OF SMALL WORLDS was published by Trip Street Press, as well as a new collection of plays, The Difficulty of Crossing a Field, by Minnesota Press. His recent books of poetry are MINIATURE (2002), STRANGE ELEGIES (2006) and SPLIT THE STICK: A MINIATURIST-DIVAN (2012), all from Roof Books. His play LEFT GLOVE was published by Solid Objects in 2011. He is the Donald I. Fine Professor of Playwriting at Brooklyn College.

Bibliographic information