Chaos: Making a New Science

Front Cover
Penguin, Aug 26, 2008 - Science - 384 pages
The million-copy New York Times bestseller and finalist for both the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award that reveals the science behind chaos theory

A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick’s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz’s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum’s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot’s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick’s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos, Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.
 

Contents

Prologue
1
Revolution
33
A revolution in seeing Pendulum clocks space balls and playground
53
A Geometry of Nature
81
Strange Attractors
119
Universality
155
The Experimenter
189
Images of Chaos
213
Inner Rhythms
273
Chaos and Beyond
301
New beliefs new definitions The Second Law the snowflake puzzle
319
Acknowledgments
349
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

James Gleick was born in New York City in 1954. He worked for ten years as an editor and reporter for The New York Times, founded an early Internet portal, the Pipeline, and has written several books of popular science, including The Information: A History, a Theory, a Flood, which won the PEN/E. O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award, and Time Travel: A History. He lives in Key West and New York.

Bibliographic information