Chekhov: the major plays

Front Cover
Penguin Books, 1982 - Drama - 380 pages
0 Reviews
The 5 plays in this collection include The Sea Gull, Uncle Vanya, and The Three Sisters.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Chekhov: The Four Major Plays: Seagull, Uncle Vanya, Three Sisters, Cherry Orchard

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Here, two master playwrights make encore appearances. Columbus, associate director of the Steppenwolf Theatre in Chicago, offers new translations of Chekhov's Uncle Vanya , The Seagull , Three Sisters ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1982)

Anton Pavlovich Chekhov was born in the provincial town of Taganrog, Ukraine, in 1860. In the mid-1880s, Chekhov became a physician, and shortly thereafter he began to write short stories. Chekhov started writing plays a few years later, mainly short comic sketches he called vaudvilles. The first collection of his humorous writings, Motley Stories, appeared in 1886, and his first play, Ivanov, was produced in Moscow the next year. In 1896, the Alexandrinsky Theater in St. Petersburg performed his first full- length drama, The Seagull. Some of Chekhov's most successful plays include The Cherry Orchard, Uncle Vanya, and Three Sisters. Chekhov brought believable but complex personalizations to his characters, while exploring the conflict between the landed gentry and the oppressed peasant classes. Chekhov voiced a need for serious, even revolutionary, action, and the social stresses he described prefigured the Communist Revolution in Russia by twenty years. He is considered one of Russia's greatest playwrights. Chekhov contracted tuberculosis in 1884, and was certain he would die an early death. In 1901, he married Olga Knipper, an actress who had played leading roles in several of his plays. Chekhov died in 1904, spending his final years in Yalta.

Bibliographic information