Chekhov - Plays & Stories

Front Cover
Read Books, Nov 1, 2008 - Drama - 384 pages
Chekhov's fame grows steadily with the years, and now for the first time his best work is made available in a single low priced volume. The translation is by S.S. Koteliansky, whose English versions of The Cherry Orchard and The Seagull appear here for the first time. The Wood Demon, the earlier version of Uncle Vanya, is the third of the full length plays in the book. A few shorter playlets are also included, and Tchekhov's mastery of the art of the short story is shown by a selection of thirteen of his best stories, including My Life, and The Lady with the Toy Dog.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2008)

Anton Pavlovich Chekhov was born in the provincial town of Taganrog, Ukraine, in 1860. In the mid-1880s, Chekhov became a physician, and shortly thereafter he began to write short stories. Chekhov started writing plays a few years later, mainly short comic sketches he called vaudvilles. The first collection of his humorous writings, Motley Stories, appeared in 1886, and his first play, Ivanov, was produced in Moscow the next year. In 1896, the Alexandrinsky Theater in St. Petersburg performed his first full- length drama, The Seagull. Some of Chekhov's most successful plays include The Cherry Orchard, Uncle Vanya, and Three Sisters. Chekhov brought believable but complex personalizations to his characters, while exploring the conflict between the landed gentry and the oppressed peasant classes. Chekhov voiced a need for serious, even revolutionary, action, and the social stresses he described prefigured the Communist Revolution in Russia by twenty years. He is considered one of Russia's greatest playwrights. Chekhov contracted tuberculosis in 1884, and was certain he would die an early death. In 1901, he married Olga Knipper, an actress who had played leading roles in several of his plays. Chekhov died in 1904, spending his final years in Yalta.

Bibliographic information