Chiefs, Book 1

Front Cover
W. W. Norton & Company, 2006 - Fiction - 427 pages
4 Reviews
In the bitter winter of 1920, the first body is found in Delano, Georgia; the naked corpse of an unidentified teenager. There is no direct evidence of murder, but the body bears marks of what seems to be a ritual beating. The investigation falls to Will Henry Lee, a failed cotton farmer newly appointed as Delano's first chief of police. Lee's obsession with the crime begins a story that weaves through the decades, following the life of a small southern town and the role of three police chiefs in unraveling the crime. Chiefs is the best kind of thriller, where the investigation plays out against the drama beneath the surface of a seemingly placid community, seething with the pressures of race, love, hate, and; always; political power, extending from the town fathers all the way to Washington, DC. With a new foreword by the author, this volume will be a collector's treasure for all fans of Stuart Woods.

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - weeze2 -

This was one of the most boring uninteresting books Ive read. Ive read others by Woods and enjoyed them. Maybe this was a fluke.Im usually satisfied or pleased with my Overstock purchases. Read full review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

I have read this book only like 10 times in the past 15 years. I give it enough time to became cold in my mind and then try it again. I never really heard of anyone like the Main bad guy,but the rest of the characters are all truely from the Georgia of the 50's and 60's that I knew. This is the best Woods book of them all. And that is saying a lot.  

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

About the author (2006)

Stuart Woods was born in Manchester, Georgia on January 9, 1938. He received a B. A in sociology from the University of Georgia in 1959. He worked in the advertising business and eventually wrote two non-fiction books entitled Blue Water, Green Skipper and A Romantic's Guide to the Country Inns of Britain and Ireland. His first novel, Chiefs, was published in 1981. It won an Edgar Award and was made into a TV miniseries starring Charlton Heston. His other works include the Stone Barrington series, the Holly Barker series, the Will Lee series, the Ed Eagle series, the Rick Barron series and the Teddy Fay series. He won France's Prix de Literature Policiere for Imperfect Strangers.

Bibliographic information