Chocolat

Front Cover
Penguin, Nov 1, 2000 - Fiction - 320 pages
7 Reviews
Even before it was adapted into the Oscar-nominated film starring Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp, Joanne Harris' New York Times bestselling novel, Chocolat entranced readers with its mix of hedonism, whimsy, and, of course, chocolate.

In tiny Lansquenet, where nothing much has changed in a hundred years, beautiful newcomer Vianne Rocher and her exquisite chocolate shop arrive and instantly begin to play havoc with Lenten vows. Each box of luscious bonbons comes with a free gift: Vianne's uncanny perception of its buyer's private discontents and a clever, caring cure for them. Is she a witch? Soon the parish no longer cares, as it abandons itself to temptation, happiness, and a dramatic face-off between Easter solemnity and the pagan gaiety of a chocolate festival. Chocolat's every page offers a description of chocolate to melt in the mouths of chocoholics, francophiles, armchair gourmets, cookbook readers, and lovers of passion everywhere. It's a must for anyone who craves an escapist read, and is a bewitching gift for any holiday.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - SueinCyprus - LibraryThing

This book was pleasant, well-written, and a bit different from most modern books - but having finished it, I'm not sure why so many people rave over it. The story is about Vianne Rocher, a single ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - BookConcierge - LibraryThing

This book reminds me of The Mistress of Spices (which, in turn, reminded me of Like Water for Chocolate). Viane is so calm in the face of other's pettiness, so confident. And yet, haunted by her late ... Read full review

All 3 reviews »

Selected pages

Contents

February 11 Shrove Tuesday
February 12 Ash Wednesday
Thursday February 13
Friday February 14 St Valentines
Saturday February 15
Sunday February 16
Tuesday February 18
Wednesday February 19
Friday March 7
Saturday March 8
Sunday March 9
Monday March 10
Wednesday March 12
Thursday March 13
Saturday March 15
Sunday March 16

Thursday February 20
Friday February 21
Sunday February 23
Monday February 24
Wednesday February 26
Thursday February 27
Saturday March 1
Sunday March 2
Tuesday March 4
Wednesday March 5
Tuesday March 18
Wednesday March 19
Friday March 21
Sunday March 23 Palm Sunday
Wednesday March 26
Friday March 28 Good Friday 36 Friday March 28 Good Friday
Saturday March 29 Easter
00 a m
Monday March 31 Easter Monday
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2000)

Joanne Harris is the author of the Whitbread Award-nominated Chocolat (made into an Oscar-nominated film starring Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp) and eleven other bestselling novels. She plays bass guitar in a band first formed when she was sixteen, is currently studying Old Norse and lives with her husband and daughter in Yorkshire, England.

Bibliographic information