Citizen Pain

Front Cover
Ballantine Books, Jul 30, 2013 - Fiction - 288 pages
Lovably troublesome Gladie Burger runs into sizzling danger and a fiery love triangle in the second installment of Elise Sax's hilarious and sexy Matchmaker romance series.

“Elise Sax will make you laugh. Her larger-than-life characters jump off the page and make crazy seem like a fun place to hang out.”—New York Times bestselling author Christie Craig

Since joining the family matchmaking business run by her eccentric Grandma Zelda, Gladie is always looking for love. But when an unbearable toothache knocks her out of commission and into the dentist's chair, she prays only for relief. No such luck. Emerging from an anesthetic haze, Gladie awakes to find that not only is her tooth still throbbing, but her dentist is dead—and the lead suspect in the murder, office receptionist Belinda, just so happens to be Gladie's first real client. Now it's up to Gladie to find Belinda a man and keep her from being locked up behind bars.

As if that weren't enough distraction, two gorgeous men are vying for Gladie's attention: Spencer, the playboy chief of police, and Holden, Gladie's secretive, gorgeously muscled neighbor. Still, Gladie's not complaining about having a helping hand or two when the case leads her to a dangerously bizarre cult. She may have met her match—and if she's not careful, it could be her last.

Praise for An Affair to Dismember

“Elise Sax's new Matchmaker series is off to a rousing start! . . . Sax gives the comic mystery genre a new spin. . . . A fun read sure to entertain.”—RT Book Reviews

“Fans of laugh-out-loud romantic suspense will enjoy this new author as she joins the ranks of Janet Evanovich, Katie MacAllister, and Jennifer Crusie.”—Booklist

“Elise Sax will win your heart.”—New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis

“In the tradition of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series, Elise Sax's new novel is a funny, sexy ride.”—Valerie Frankel, author of Four of a Kind

“What a fun book! It will leave readers begging for more.”—Kim Gruenenfelder, author of There's Cake in My Future

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
1
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - bettysunflower - LibraryThing

This is a cute, fun and easy to read book. The main character, Gladie is a match maker in training in her Grandmother's business. She is balancing a love triangle with a murder mystery. **Good Reads Win Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Sheila1957 - LibraryThing

Book 2 of the Matchmaker series. I liked the humor here. Spencer is hiding out in Gladie's bedroom from his Facebook friends but we really don't know why. We assume the reason but I don't know if I'm ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2013)

Elise Sax worked as a journalist for fifteen years, mostly in Paris. She took a detour from journalism and became a private investigator before writing her first novel, An Affair to Dismember. She lives in Southern California with her two sons.

Bibliographic information