Clio's Warriors: Canadian Historians and the Writing of the World Wars

Front Cover
UBC Press, Nov 1, 2011 - History - 352 pages
1 Review

Clio's Warriors examines how the Canadian world war experience has been constructed and reconstructed over time. Tim Cook elucidates the role of historians in codifying the sacrifice and struggle of a generation as he discusses historical memory and writing, the creation of archives, and the war of reputations that followed each of the world wars on the battlefield.

Only recently have academic military historians pushed the discipline to explore the impact of war on society. Even so, the publications of official historians remain the central narrative of the national experience. In analyzing where the profession has come from and where it needs to go, Clio's Warriors plays a vital role in the ongoing challenge of writing critical history. It will be an essential addition to the library of all Canadian military historians and students of military history and historiography.


What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - musecure - LibraryThing

Very interesting and well written. Gave me a greater appreciation of the difficulties faced by the official historians and those writing contemporary history. Read full review


Writing the World Wars
1 Documenting War and Forging Reputations 191418
2 The War of Reputations 191839
3 Clio in the Service of Mars 193945
4 History Wars and War History 194548
5 Official History Contested Memory 194860
6 Forging the Canon of Canadian World War History 19602000
An Ongoing Dialogue
Select Bibliography of Official and SemiOfficial Canadian Histories

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

Tim Cook is the curator of the Canadian War Museum. He is the author of No Place to Run: The Canadian Corps and Gas Warfare in the First World War (1999-2000), which won the C.P. Stacey award for best book in Canadian military history, and Shock Troops: Canadians Fighting in the Great War 1917-18 (2009), winner of the Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction.

Bibliographic information