Complete preludes, books 1 and 2, Book 1

Front Cover
Courier Corporation, 1964 - Music - 118 pages
0 Reviews
Here, in one volume, are two bodies of work that, perhaps more than any others, reveal the essence of Claude Debussy's extraordinary expressiveness and his innovative gifts for musical imagery. Each book contains twelve preludes for the piano, many of them well known to today's musical audiences because of their great popularity with pianists worldwide. Ranging from the mystical "La Cathedrale engloutie" to the capricious "Ondine" to the explosive "Feux d'artifice, " they offer special joys to pianists of varying levels of ability.

Other favorites from the piano repertorie in this collection include: "Danseuses de Delphes, " "Ce qu'a vu le Vent d'Ouest, ""La fille aux cheveux de lin, ""La danse de Puck" and "Feuilles mortes." Some are technically simple, others comparatively difficult. All of them afford pianists an unparalleled opportunity to explore and develop their expressive range.

This authoritative edition of the complete "Preludes," with a helpful glossary of French terms, has been carefully printed on durable paper and sturdily bound to provide students and lovers of fine music a lifetime of study and enjoyment of these beloved masterpieces of piano composition.


What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1964)

French composer Claude Debussy (1862–1918) was one of the most prominent figures working within the field of impressionist music, although he disliked the term when applied to his compositions. A central figure in European music of the turn of the 20th century, he was made Chevalier of the Legion of Honor in 1903.

Bibliographic information