Complete sonatas, Invitation to the dance, and other piano works

Front Cover
Courier Corporation, 1992 - Music - 242 pages
0 Reviews

A virtuoso of the piano and a pioneer of musical Romanticism, Carl Maria von Wolfe (1786 1926) wrote piano music of elegance and grandeur enhanced with bravura technical effects that profoundly influenced later 19th-century piano music. This volume presents virtually all Weber's works for piano solo: the four piano sonatas Opus 24 in C Major (1812), Opus 39 in A-flat Minor (1816), Opus 49 in D Minor (1816), and Opus 70 in E Minor (1822) considered the core of his output; his most popular piano composition, "Invitation to the Dance," a waltz later orchestrated by Berlioz and used for the celebrated ballet "Le Spectre de la Rose"; eight lively and engaging sets of variations; and the dazzling "Momento Capriccioso," "Grande Polonaise," "Rondo Brillante," and "Polacca Brillante." Pianists will enjoy exploring this richly varied collection of piano masterworks, reprinted from the authoritative edition published by C. F. Peters of Leipzig.



What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Selected pages


Sonata No 1 in С Major Op 24 1812 ded to
Variations on a Theme from Voglers Castore
Variations on Bianchis Vien qu Dorina beцa
Variations on an Original Theme Op 9 1808 200
Sonata No 2 in Aflat Major Op 6 1816 ded

Bibliographic information