Complete sonatas and variations for cello and piano: from the Breitkopf & Härtel complete works edition

Front Cover
Courier Corporation, 1990 - Music - 162 pages
1 Review

Beethoven's five sonatas for cello and piano are basic works of the cello repertoire, and his three sets of variations on themes by Mozart and Handel are perennial favorites of chamber-music programs as well. This volume contains all eight works, carefully reproduced from the authoritative complete-works edition published by Breitkopf & Hartel.
Contents: Sonata in F major, Op. 5, No. 1; Sonata in G minor, Op. 5, No. 2; Sonata in A major, Op. 69; Sonata in C major, Op. 102, No. 1; Sonata in D major, Op. 102, No. 2; Variations on Handel's "See, the Conqu'ring Hero Comes," WoO 45; Variations on Mozart's "Ein Madchen oder Weibchen," Op. 66; and Variations on Mozart's "Bei Mannern, welche Liebe Fuhlen." WoO 46.
According to the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Beethoven "composed works of classical equilibrium by using the appropriate registers to set the cello off to its best advantage." Now musicians and music lovers can study and enjoy his mastery in this inexpensive, well-made treasury of time-honored scores."


What people are saying - Write a review

Brilliantly Beethoven!

User Review  - jamie54ok -

I love Beethoven and played cello in my youth. I found out immediately that it requires an experienced cellist to follow Beethovens music. But my pianist friend was of great help. You will not be ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1990)

The triumphant genius of Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) casts a long shadow over classical music -- no other composer of the past two centuries has exercised an influence more profound than his. A product of the classicist generation, he was the first of the Romantics, and his exhilarating works remain undiminished in their powers of enchantment.

Bibliographic information