Consider Her Ways

Front Cover
Insomniac Press, Feb 15, 2002 - Ants - 218 pages
1 Review
Originally published in 1947, this is Frederick Philip Grove's last and most unique book. In the tradition of Orwell's 'Animal Farm', Grove examines the idea of a utopian society through the story of a group of travelling ants who find themselves in North America. An amateur scientist encounters the colony and makes telepathic contact with a very special elder of the ant community. In fact, the ant infuses the scientist with her memory and uses her new friend as a medium through which she tells the colony's incredible story, a tale that holds up a mirror to our culture, demonstrating to both worlds the parallels and contrasts between the pastoral ways of the ants and the North American life of excess. This classic Canadian novel is back in print for the first time in 20 years, allowing readers to more completely assess Grove's body of works. Fans of speculative fiction will be delighted to see that his prose is as fresh as it was 50 years ago. This was Grove's last novel, and it stands as a testament both to his writing and his prescience.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

An amazing book, ahead of its time by half a century.
Did someone at Disney or Dreamworks read this and "come up" with a movie idea?
You owe it to yourself to discover it!

Contents

Introduction
12
The Isthmus
29
The Mountains
62
The Slope
99
The Plain
132
The Seaboard
169
Appendix
207
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

Popular passages

Page 24 - By some mesmeric action I, my individuality, had been sucked up or down into an alien mass-consciousness which communed with me through channels other than those of the senses. The moment I surrendered myself, my consciousness was that, not of my former self, but that of ants, and of no individual ant, so far, but of all antdom.
Page 5 - Go to the ant, O sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise. Without having any chief, officer or ruler, she prepares her food in summer, and gathers her sustenance in harvest.
Page 19 - ... stalking up, and attack the enemy with their strong jaws. Sometimes, when digging into the burrows, one of these giants has unperceived climbed up my dress, and the first intimation of his presence has been the burying of his jaws in my neck, from which he would not fail to draw the blood. The stately observant way in which they stalk about, and their great size, compared with the others, always impressed me with the idea that in their bulky heads 'lay the brains that directed the community in...
Page 23 - On awaking I had had a very peculiar sensation. I had not seemed to be I." Up to this point, Grove had cut about two pages of devices, and had succeeded in focusing attention on the I/not I theme.
Page 23 - Something was happening to me. A numbness invaded my limbs; I tried to turn my eyes and could not. I knew that the routine work of the carrier columns was going on all the time; but I did not know how I knew. My mind, however, was singularly free and mobile; and this gave me a queer sensation: much as a paralytic may contrast his mental agility with his muscular rigidity.

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (2002)

Frederick Philip Grove was a Canadian author and translator best known for his fictional works exploring the Canadian west. Born in Germany as Felix Paul Greve, Grove emigrated to Canada as an adult following his imprisonment for fraud in 1903 and a self-imposed exile from Germany from 1904-1906. Settling in Manitoba, Grove formally changed his name and undertook a series of teaching positions in rural areas before devoting himself to writing full time starting in the early 1920s. Among Grove's most memorable works are Fruits of the Earth, Settlers of the Marsh, and A Search for America. Grove died in Ontario in 1948 after suffering a stroke in 1946.

Bibliographic information