Costa Rica: A Traveler's Literary Companion

Front Cover
Barbara Ras
Whereabouts Press, 1994 - Fiction - 238 pages
1 Review
Table of Contents
"Northern Zone: "
Carmen Naranjo "Believe It or Not"
Jose Leon Sanchez "The Girl Who Came from the Moon"
Mario Gonzalez Feo "Bucho Vargas, Healer and Medicine Man"
"San Jose and the Central Valley: "
Yolanda Oreamuno "The Lizard with the White Belly"
Rima de Vallbona "The Chumico Tree"
Fabian Dobles "The Tagua Tree"
Samuel Rovinski "The Adventure"
Fernando Duran Ayanegui "Monday"
Alfonso Chase "Faust in Hatillo"
"Guanacaste: "
Rima de Vallbona "Mystery Stone"
"Southern Pacific Coast"
Carlos Salazar Herrera "The Bongo"
Alfonso Chase "She Wore a Bikini"
"Southern Zone: "
Carlos Salazar Herrera "The Carbonero"
"Atlantic Zone: "
Fabian Dobles "The Diary"
Carlos Luis Fallas "In the Shadow of the Banana Tree"
Quince Duncan "The Oropendolas"
Abel Pacheco From "Deeper Than Skin"
Julieta Pinto "The Blue Fish"
"Costa Rica: "
Yolanda Oreamuno "The Spirit of My Land"
Carmen Lyra "Pastor's Ten Little Old Men"
Joaquin Gutierrez "A Leaf of Air"
Max Jimenez "The Palmitero"
Louis Ducoudray "Here"
Uriel Quesada "We Have Brought You the Sea"
Alfredo Aguilar "Mint Flowers"
Carmen Naranjo "When New Flowers Bloomed"

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - JGolomb - LibraryThing

This enjoyable collection of short stories is a nice companion to any visit to Costa Rica. The stories are "literary" in shouldn't expect explorers crashing through rainforests chasing ... Read full review


Carmen Naranjo Believe It or Not i
Mario Gonzalez Feo Bucho Vargas Healer

19 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1994)

Barbara Rass first book of poems, "Bite Every Sorrow," won the Walt Whitman Award in 1997 and the Kate Tufts Discovery Award. She is currently the director of the Trinity University Press in San Antonio.

Bibliographic information