Court Lady And Country Wife: Royal Privilege and Civil War - Two Noble Sisters in Seventeenth-Century England

Front Cover
HarperCollins Canada, Jul 19, 2011 - History - 400 pages
2 Reviews

Lucy Percy was the courtly beauty—a charming lady whose considerable talents in the ballrooms, bedrooms and anterooms of the court of Charles I were, in the end, not enough to keep her from the Tower of London. Lucy’s sister Dorothy was the country wife—mother of 12 children, a domineering and politically savvy woman whose unaspiring husband’s eventual rebellion caused a public scandal. Together the Countess of Carlisle and the Countess of Leicester were at the centre of power during one of Britain’s most tumultuous periods. This richly detailed, intriguing story of two exceptional sisters is a must-read for fans of Charlotte Gray, Sandra Gulland and Jane Dunn.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - bhowell - LibraryThing

I thoroughly enjoyed this history of the lives of two aristocratic sisters in 17th century England. The book reads well and provides a little view into life under the Stuarts at that time. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - dberryfan - LibraryThing

Interesting source material, not the most interesting writing style. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2011)

Lita-Rose Betcherman received a doctorate in Tudor and Stuart history from the University of Toronto and was the Women's Bureau director for the province of Ontario. She is the author of three books on Canadian history and lives in Toronto.

Bibliographic information