Crystal structure analysis: principles and practice

Front Cover
Oxford University Press, 2009 - Science - 387 pages
This text focuses on the practical aspects of crystal structure analysis, and provides the necessary conceptual framework for understanding and applying the technique. By choosing an approach that does not put too much emphasis on the mathematics involved, the book gives practical advice on topics such as growing crystals, solving and refining structures, and understanding and using the results. The technique described is a core experimental method in modern structural chemistry, and plays an ever more important role in the careers of graduate students, postdoctoral and academic staff in chemistry, and final-year undergraduates.
Much of the material of the first edition has been significantly updated and expanded, and some new topics have been added. The approach to several of the topics has changed, reflecting the book's new authorship, and recent developments in the subject.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Introduction to diffraction
Introduction to symmetry and diffraction
Crystal growth and evaluation

20 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

William Clegg:
Formerly Wissenschaftlicher Assistant at the University of Gottingen in Germany, two Joint Appointments at Daresbury Laboratory, Founding Joint Editor of Acta Crystallographica Section E, BCA Council Member, RSC Corday-Morgan Medal 1985.
Alexander J Blake:
Formerly Research Fellow at the University of Edinburgh, previous Chairman of the BCA Chemical Crystallography Group, Deputy Editor of Acta Crystallographica Section C, Vice-President of the British Crystallographic Association, Scientific Director of the BCA CCG Intensive Course on X-ray Structural Analysis.
Jacqueline M Cole:
Formerly Research Associate at the University of Kent and Junior Research Fellow at St Catherine's College Cambridge, BCA Chemical Crystallography Prize 2000, Franco-British Science Prize 2006, Brian Mercer Feasibility Award 2007, RSC SAC Silver Medal 2009.
John S O Evans:
Formally Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851 Research Fellow at the Inorganic Chemistry Laboratories, Oxford, recipient of the RSC Meldola medal for contributions to solid state chemistry, former honorary secretary/treasurer of the BCA Physical Crystallography Group, chair of the ISIS crystallography panel, scientific co-director of the IoP Structural Condensed Matter Physics Group/BCA PCG residential school on powder diffraction.
Peter Main:
Co-developer of MULTAN program for direct methods in crystallography. Simon Parsons:
Formerly Research Fellow at the University of Oxford and staff crystallographer at the University of Edinburgh, previous Chairman of the BCA Chemical Crystallography Group.
David J Watkin:
Coordinator for the program system CRYSTALS, founder of the BCA Intensive Schools, former chairman of the IUCr Computing Commission.

Bibliographic information