Dances for solo piano: from the Breitkopf & Härtel Complete works edition, Part 3

Front Cover
Dover, 1889 - Music - 181 pages
0 Reviews

Of Franz Schubert's many compositions for solo piano, the dances — waltzes, l ndler, cossaises, German dances, and minuets — hold a special place in the affections of performers and audiences. This finely made edition brings together in one inexpensive volume a near-complete selection of over 350 of these engaging works, among them the popular dances in "Homage to the fair ladies of Vienna." Many are less than half a page long, but all of them radiate the melody and charm that have endeared Schubert to the musical world.
Most of the dances are of only moderate difficulty and are excellent teaching pieces, offering an ideal balance of challenge and reward to piano students at intermediate levels. This edition has been exactingly reprinted from the authoritative Breitkopf & H rtel edition, and sturdily produced to offer music lovers a lifetime of study and enjoyment of these buoyant gems for piano.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (1889)

Austrian composer Franz Schubert (1797–1828) was extremely prolific in the course of his brief life. In addition to 600 Lieder, he wrote nine symphonies, liturgical music, operas and incidental music, along with a large body of chamber music and solo piano music.