Daphnis et Chloé: suite, Issue 2

Front Cover
Courier Corporation, 1999 - Music - 125 pages
1 Review

This 20th-century orchestral masterpiece offers a rich musical setting of a pastoral Greek fable by Longus. Commissioned by Diaghilev for the "Ballet Russes, " the work premiered in Paris in 1912. The lush scoring dramatically displays the composer's genius for transmuting a traditional musical idiom into a fresh and stirring language of his own, ranging from audacious and driving to softly and hauntingly beautiful.
Reproduced here from the original French edition, the score appears with rehearsal-numbered movements. Ideal for study in the classroom, at home, or in the concert hall, this affordable, high-quality, conveniently sized volume will be the edition of choice for music students and music lovers alike.

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

Love this suite from day to night.

Other editions - View all

About the author (1999)

Maurice Ravel was one of the most original and sophisticated composers of the early 20th century. He wrote several operas, including "L'Enfant et les Sortileges" ("The Child and the Spell"), as well as ballets, and orchestral and chamber music. Sidonie-Gabrielle Colette collaborated with Ravel on "L'Enfant et les Sortileges" and wrote the libretto for it. Pegi Deitz Shea is the award-winning author of "The Carpet Boy's Gift," "Liberty Rising," "Patience Wright," "Tangled Threads," "Ten Mice for Tet," and "The Whispering Cloth," She lives in Rockville, Connecticut. Serena Riglietti has illustrated more than 50 children's books, including the Italian editions of the Harry Potter series.

Bibliographic information