The Daydreamer

Front Cover
Vintage, 1995 - Families - 144 pages
5 Reviews
In these seven interlinked stories the grown-up Peter reveals the secret journeys, metamorphoses and adventures of his childhood. Taking childhood as his subject matter, this is McEwan's first work of fiction which appeals to children as well as adults.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - ratastrophe - LibraryThing

This collection of stories, while short (read in one sitting kind of short), also manages to be utterly captivating. The last story especially moved me, when Peter comes to the realization that he ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - francescadefreitas - LibraryThing

This is series of short vignettes - all incidents in the life of ten-year-old Peter, who people think is difficult, because he is quiet and they don't know what he is thinking. In fact, Peter has an ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1995)

Ian McEwan is a critically acclaimed author of short stories and novels for adults, as well as The Daydreamer, a children's novel illustrated by Anthony Browne. His first published work, a collection of short stories, First Love, Last Rites, won the Somerset Maugham Award. His novels include The Child in Time, which won the 1987 Whitbread Novel of the Year Award, The Cement Garden, Enduring Love, Amsterdam, which won the 1998 Booker Prize, Atonement, Saturday, On Chesil Beach, Solar, Sweet Tooth and The Children Act.

Bibliographic information