Devil's Pass

Front Cover
Orca Book Publishers, Oct 12, 2012 - Juvenile Fiction - 256 pages
12 Reviews
Seventeen-year-old Webb's abusive stepfather has made it impossible for him to live at home, so Webb survives on the streets of Toronto by busking with his guitar and working as a dishwasher. When Webb's grandfather dies, his will stipulates that his grandsons fulfill specific requests. Webb's task takes him to the Canol Trail in Canada's Far North, where he finds out that there are much scarier things than the cold and the occasional grizzly bear. With a Native guide, two German tourists and his guitar for company, Webb is forced to confront terrible events in his grandfather's past and somehow deal with the pain and confusion of his own life.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - RussianLoveMachine - LibraryThing

Another great adventure story from Seven the Series. Would be a good readalike for fans of Gary Paulsen, Gary Schmidt, and other outdoorsy-adventure-survival stories. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - ElizaJane - LibraryThing

It has been a very long time since I read this author. I read, and enjoyed, a handful of his books way back at the beginning of his career when I lived in Alberta and he was a local author of ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Chapter 2
9
Chapter 3
14
Chapter 4
23
Chapter 5
32
Chapter 6
39
Chapter 7
47
Chapter 8
55
Chapter 9
62
Chapter 21
132
Chapter 22
141
Chapter 23
149
Chapter 24
155
Chapter 25
161
Chapter 26
165
Chapter 27
175
Chapter 28
181

Chapter 10
67
Chapter 11
75
Chapter 12
81
Chapter 13
88
Chapter 14
92
Chapter 15
100
Part 2
106
Chapter 16
107
Chapter 17
111
Chapter 18
117
Chapter 19
123
Chapter 20
127
Chapter 29
185
Chapter 30
192
Chapter 31
196
Chapter 32
203
Chapter 33
206
Part 3
214
Chapter 34
217
Chapter 35
220
Chapter 36
225
Chapter 37
230
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

With close to three million books in print, Sigmund Brouwer writes for both children and adults. In the last ten years, he has given writing workshops to students in schools from the Arctic Circle to inner city Los Angeles. One of his latest novels, The Last Disciple, earned Sigmund an appearance on ABC's Good Morning America. Sigmund and his family live half the year in Nashville, Tennessee, and half the year in Red Deer, Alberta.

Bibliographic information