Dictionary of Atheism, Skepticism, and Humanism

Front Cover
Prometheus Books - Philosophy
0 Reviews
[B]elongs in every thinker's (or freethinker's) reference library. -Free Inquiry[F]ills a void in the reference literature of religion by focusing on atheism, skepticism, and humanism....the work should be purchased by libraries serving seminaries and other religious institutions and by academic libraries that support programs in religion or philosophy. -American Reference Books Annual[A]n indispensable research tool for all nonbelievers and scholars in the field of religion.... displays an impressive grasp of the field. -Michael Martin, Professor of Philosophy Emeritus, Boston UniversityIn the tradition of Voltaire's Philosophical Dictionary, Ambrose Bierce's Devil's Dictionary, and Joseph McCabe's Rationalist Encyclopedia, this accessible dictionary addresses the contemporary need for a reference book that succinctly summarizes the key concepts, current terminology, and major contributions of influential thinkers broadly associated with atheism, skepticism, and humanism. In the preface, author Bill Cooke notes that his work is intended for freethinkers in the broadest sense of the word: people who like to think for themselves and not according to the preplanned routes set by others. This dictionary will serve as a guide for all those people striving to lead fulfilling, morally responsible lives without religious belief.Readers are offered a wide range of concepts, from ancient, well-known notions such as God, free will, and evil to new concepts such as eupraxsophy. Also included are current buzzwords that have some bearing on the freethought worldview such as metrosexual. The names of many people whose lives or work reflect freethought principles form a major portion of the entries. Finally, a humanist calendar is included, on which events of interest to freethinkers are noted.This unique, accessible, and highly informative work will be a welcome addition to the libraries of open-minded people of all philosophic persuasions.Bill Cooke (Amherst, NY) is International Director of the Center for Inquiry, Visiting Assistant Professor of Philosophy at the State University of New York at Buffalo, formerly Senior Lecturer at the School of Visual Arts at the University of Auckland at Manukau in New Zealand, and the author of A Rebel to His Last Breath: Joseph McCabe and Rationalism and Heathen in Godzone: Seventy Years of Rationalism in New Zealand.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author

Bill Cooke (Amherst, NY) is International Director of the Center for Inquiry, Visiting Assistant Professor of Philosophy at the State University of New York at Buffalo, formerly Senior Lecturer at the School of Visual Arts at the University of Auckland at Manukau in New Zealand, and the author of A Rebel to His Last Breath: Joseph McCabe and Rationalism and Heathen in Godzone: Seventy Years of Rationalism in New Zealand.

Bibliographic information