Dictionary of Atheism, Skepticism, and Humanism

Front Cover
Prometheus Books, 2006 - Philosophy - 606 pages
0 Reviews
In the tradition of Voltaire’s Philosophical Dictionary, Ambrose Bierce’s Devil’s Dictionary, and Joseph McCabe’s Rationalist Encyclopedia, this accessible dictionary addresses the contemporary need for a reference book that succinctly summarizes the key concepts, current terminology, and major contributions of influential thinkers broadly associated with atheism, skepticism, and humanism. In the preface, author Bill Cooke notes that his work is intended "for freethinkers in the broadest sense of the word: people who like to think for themselves and not according to the preplanned routes set by others." This dictionary will serve as a guide for all those people striving to lead fulfilling, morally responsible lives without religious belief.
Readers are offered a wide range of concepts, from ancient, well-known notions such as God, free will, and evil to new concepts such as "eupraxsophy." Also included are current "buzzwords" that have some bearing on the freethought worldview such as "metrosexual." The names of many people whose lives or work reflect freethought principles form a major portion of the entries. Finally, a humanist calendar is included, on which events of interest to freethinkers are noted.
This unique, accessible, and highly informative work will be a welcome addition to the libraries of open-minded people of all philosophic persuasions.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2006)

Bill Cooke, an independent scholar, is author of A Dictionary of Atheism, Skepticism, and Humanism; The Gathering of Infidels: A Hundred Years of the Rationalist Press Association; and A Rebel to His Last Breath: Joseph McCabe and Rationalism, among other books and articles. He was also senior lecturer at the School of Visual Arts, University of Auckland at Manukau from 1996 to 2008.

Bibliographic information