Did Thomas Crapper Really Invent the Toilet?: The Inventions That Changed Our Homes and Our Lives

Front Cover
Skyhorse Publishing Inc., 2008 - Reference - 210 pages
2 Reviews
Which came first, sliced bread or the toaster? When did most people begin wearing deodorant? Who invented the electric blanket? Catherine O’Reilly tackles questions such as these with a keen curiosity and well-honed writing skills. Her ability to turn any normal home into a jungle of history, invention, and technological wonder is a treat. For fans of Schott’s Original Miscellany and The Book of Useless Information, O’Reilly’s Did Thomas Crapper Really Invent the Toilet? is another smart and quirky look at miscellaneous items. Learn the real histories of the blender, the fire extinguisher, the cheese grater, the clock radio, deodorant, Post-its, fabric softener, and, of course, the toilet. These are the unknown stories of everyday items that we take for granted.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

Minimal Info

User Review  - czarpa60 - Overstock.com

This book glosses over the historybackground of the invention of everyday products. There is forced humor. I have read many other books on the history of inventions and would recommend any of those ... Read full review

Great book for a bathroom

User Review  - Matthew L. - Overstock.com

Havent read it yet but guest have enjoyed seeing it on top of my guest room toilet! Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Flossing Tools
10
Toothbrush
24
Bleach
40
Air Conditioner
56
Sun Lamp
70
CONTENTS
80
Cheese Grater
84
Dishwasher
90
Answering Machine
124
CDs
130
Remote Control
136
Camera
142
Baby Wipes
156
Paper Clip
170
StaplerStaples
184
Fertilizer
194

Microwave
96
Smoke Detector
102
Clothes Dryer
110
Fabric Softener
116
Lawn Mower
200
Resources
207
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

Catherine O'Reilly is a professional writer who lives in New York City.

Bibliographic information