Did Thomas Crapper Really Invent the Toilet?: The Inventions That Changed Our Homes and Our Lives

Front Cover
Skyhorse Publishing Inc., 2008 - Reference - 210 pages
2 Reviews
Which came first, sliced bread or the toaster? When did most people begin wearing deodorant? Who invented the electric blanket? Catherine O’Reilly tackles questions such as these with a keen curiosity and well-honed writing skills. Her ability to turn any normal home into a jungle of history, invention, and technological wonder is a treat. For fans of Schott’s Original Miscellany and The Book of Useless Information, O’Reilly’s Did Thomas Crapper Really Invent the Toilet? is another smart and quirky look at miscellaneous items. Learn the real histories of the blender, the fire extinguisher, the cheese grater, the clock radio, deodorant, Post-its, fabric softener, and, of course, the toilet. These are the unknown stories of everyday items that we take for granted.

What people are saying - Write a review

Minimal Info

User Review  - czarpa60 - Overstock.com

This book glosses over the historybackground of the invention of everyday products. There is forced humor. I have read many other books on the history of inventions and would recommend any of those ... Read full review

Great book for a bathroom

User Review  - Matthew L. - Overstock.com

Havent read it yet but guest have enjoyed seeing it on top of my guest room toilet! Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2008)

Catherine O'Reilly is a professional writer who lives in New York City.

Bibliographic information