Dinner for Two

Front Cover
Hodder & Stoughton, Jul 15, 2010 - Fiction - 384 pages
3 Reviews

A witty and touching novel for fans of Tony Parsons and Nick Hornby.

Thirty-two-year-old music journalist Dave Harding has got a nice house, a cushy job and in Izzy, his partner, the ideal companion for an intimate dinner for two. But when friends of Dave announce they're having a baby the biological clock he never knew existed starts ticking. Loudly.

When the magazine Dave works for folds he is forced to take the worst job in journalism - Agony Uncle for Teen Scene. Suddenly cooler-than-cool Dave is knee deep in the adolescent outpourings of his teenage readership. One letter out of thousands, however, turns his life upside down.

Thirteen-year-old Nicola O'Connell doesn't want advice about boys - she wants to know about Dave because she's convinced that Dave Harding is her dad. And she's got the facts to prove it.

What people are saying - Write a review

DINNER FOR TWO

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Britisher Gayle (My Legendary Girlfriend, 2002) bowls another one down the lad-lit lane with this slight and lighthearted riff on fatherhood.Dave, the Trinidadian music critic for Louder, "the ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - CatieN - LibraryThing

Dave and Izzy are in their early 30s, happily married, living in London, and both working for different magazines. They hadn't planned on having children now, if ever, but when Izzy turns up pregnant ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Previously an Agony Uncle, Mike Gayle is a freelance journalist who has contributed to a variety of magazines including FHM, Sunday Times Style and Cosmopolitan. His bestselling novels include MY LEGENDARY GIRLFRIEND, MR COMMITMENT, TURNING THIRTY, HIS 'N' HERS and BRAND NEW FRIEND. He keeps a website at www.mikegayle.co.uk and can be found on Facebook and on twitter.com/mikegayle

Bibliographic information