Mendelssohn: Early Works for Piano

Front Cover
CUP Archive, Sep 26, 1985 - Music - 49 pages
0 Reviews
This volume includes seven piano compositions, which chart Mendelssohn's astonishingly rapid stylistic development between 1823 and 1826: Capriccio, Prestissimo, Fugue in G minor, Vivace, and Fugue in E major, the Andante in D major and Allegro in C major. Mendelssohn's interest in counterpoint is nurtured in the two double fugues; some of the pieces show the influence of contemporary piano music. There are also numerous instances of Beethoven's influence.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Selected pages

About the author (1985)

R. Larry Todd was hailed in The New York Times as "the dean of Mendelssohn scholars in the United States." A Professor of Musicology at Duke University, he has published widely on Mendelssohn and his time, and on nineteenth-century music.

Bibliographic information