East Lynne

Front Cover
OUP Oxford, Mar 10, 2005 - Fiction - 704 pages
3 Reviews
'Coward! Sneak! May good men shun him, from henceforth! may his Queen refuse to receive him! You, an earl's daughter! Oh, Isabel! How utterly you have lost yourself!' When the aristocratic Lady Isabel abandons her husband and children for her wicked seducer, more is at stake than moral retribution. Ellen Wood played upon the anxieties of the Victorian middle classes who feared a breakdown of the social order as divorce became more readily available and promiscuity threatened the sanctity of the family. In her novel the simple act of hiring a governess raises the spectres of murder, disguise, and adultery. Her sensation novel was devoured by readers from the Prince of Wales to Joseph Conrad and continued to fascinate theatre-goers and cinema audiences well into the next century. This edition returns for the first time to the racy, slang-ridden narrative of the first edition, rather than the subsequent stylistically 'improved' versions hitherto reproduced by modern editors. ABOUT THE SERIES: For over 100 years Oxford World's Classics has made available the widest range of literature from around the globe. Each affordable volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, helpful notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - AlCracka - LibraryThing

So, this woman in the Victorian club specializes in lesser-known female Victorian authors and she recommended a bunch of books to me. Neat thing to specialize in, huh? I realize some of these are less ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - kathleen586 - LibraryThing

Excellent Victorian sensation novel that will appeal to fans of Lady Audley's Secret and No Name. I can't really talk about it without giving something away, but it kept me on the figurative "edge of ... Read full review

Contents

Introduction
vii
Note on the Text
xl
Select Bibliography
xliv
A Chronology of Ellen Wood
xlvii
EAST LYNNE
1
PART THE FIRST
5
PART THE SECOND
196
PART THE THIRD
385
Explanatory Notes
625
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2005)

Elisabeth Jay's published work includes a literary biography of Margaret Oliphant, an edition of Oliphant's autobiography (OUP) and her novel Miss Marjoribanks (Penguin), and a series of books on nineteenth-century literature and religion.

Bibliographic information