East Lynne

Front Cover
Oxford University Press, UK, Mar 10, 2005 - Fiction - 704 pages
3 Reviews
When the aristocratic Lady Isabel abandons her husband and children for her wicked seducer, more is at stake than moral retribution. This edition returns for the first time to the racy, slang-ridden narrative of the first edition, rather than the subsequent stylistically 'improved' versions hitherto reproduced by modern editors. - ;'Coward! Sneak! May good men shun him, from henceforth! may his Queen refuse to receive him! You, an earl's daughter! Oh, Isabel! How utterly you have lost yourself!' When the aristocratic Lady Isabel abandons her husband and children for her wicked seducer, more is at stake than moral retribution. Ellen Wood played upon the anxieties of the Victorian middle classes who feared a breakdown of the social order as divorce became more readily available and promiscuity threatened the sanctity of the family. In her novel the simple act of hiring a governess raises the spectres of murder, disguise, and adultery. Her sensation novel was devoured by readers from the Prince of Wales to Joseph Conrad and continued to fascinate theatre-goers and cinema audiences well into the next century. This edition returns for the first time to the racy, slang-ridden narrative of the first edition, rather than the subsequent stylistically 'improved' versions hitherto reproduced by modern editors. - ;Excellent introduction, nicely presented. -

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - AlCracka - LibraryThing

So, this woman in the Victorian club specializes in lesser-known female Victorian authors and she recommended a bunch of books to me. Neat thing to specialize in, huh? I realize some of these are less ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - kathleen586 - LibraryThing

Excellent Victorian sensation novel that will appeal to fans of Lady Audley's Secret and No Name. I can't really talk about it without giving something away, but it kept me on the figurative "edge of ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Bibliographic information