Easy and Hard Ways Out: A Novel

Front Cover
Open Road Media, Jan 22, 2013 - Fiction - 245 pages
0 Reviews
An underachieving engineer building a fighter plane faces a life-changing decision in this Vietnam-era novel perfect for fans of Kurt Vonnegut, Joshua Ferris, and Joseph Heller.
 This furious, slapstick tale has been praised by the New York Times as one of the “best and brightest” novels about the Vietnam War. We follow the travails of Harvey Brank and his fellow employees, all undrafted malcontents working in a spectacularly small-minded, almost Kafkaesque engineering company. Assigned to build a fighter plane and drawn into office intrigues, Brank faces impossible demands. His wife, despairing of his patchy employment history and restlessness, hopes against hope that Brank won’t get himself fired this time. But what do you do when everything conspires against your vision of a decent, peaceable life?

Easy and Hard Ways Out is a blunt, freewheeling look at the men who stay home during wartime—a story about the everyday, with a timeless moral at its heart. 
 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Contents

Gateway to the East
45 A M
A Great and Sacred Trust
O Sole
The Sex Problems of Engineers
Offers and Counteroffers
All Those Voting for a Quarter Inch Raise Hands
X3+5Y2Almost
Mathematical Puzzles
Interlude Between Two Working Days
The Dilbert Dunker
None of Us Like It

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

Robert Grossbach worked for many years at a firm that manufactures electronic components, and wrote from experience. His novels include Someone Great (1971), Never Say Die (1979),and A Shortage of Engineers (2001). Grossbach lives in Commack, New York.  

Bibliographic information