Echoes Down the Corridor: Collected Essays, 1944-2000

Front Cover
Viking, 2000 - Literary Collections - 332 pages
0 Reviews
Arthur Miller's "Colledted Essays" will bring together fifty previously uncollected pieces published between 1945 and 1999. The pieces, which originally appeared in a wide variety of magazines and newspapers (including Harper's, The Atlantic, Esquire, Life, The Saturday Review, The Nation and The New York Times Magazine) offer provocative commentary on significant people, issues and events from the second half of the twentieth century -by one of America's foremost public intellectuals. Organized chronologically, the essays take the reader on a whirlwind ride through modern history: the Nazi War Crime Trials; McCarthyist America in the '50s; Vietnam; the Soviet occupation of Eastern Europe; Watergate; and finally ending with President Clinton's infamous liaison with Monic Lewinsky. Woven throughout are evocative memoirs, theater commentaries and thoughtful meditations on art, morality, and freedom of expression. Taken together the collection not only constitutes an amazing cultural analysis and critique of American society, but paints a fascinating portrait of the private man who created some of America's best drama.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

ECHOES DOWN THE CORRIDOR: Collected Essays, 1944-1999

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

A volume of essays, 1994-99, by one of America's most prominent American playwrights—an engaged intellectual and public figure who has remained abreast of the major political, social, and cultural ... Read full review

Echoes down the corridor: collected essays, 1944-2000

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

It shouldn't surprise anyone who has read or seen Death of a Salesman or The Crucible that Miller has strong political opinions, that he is concerned with ordinary people in difficult situations, and ... Read full review


Belief in America from Situation Normal I
A Modest Proposal for the Pacification of the Public Temper I
Concerning the Boom I

22 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

About the author (2000)

Arthur Miller was born in New York City in 1915 and studied at the University of Michigan. His plays include All My Sons (1947), Death of a Salesman (1949), The Crucible (1953), A View from the Bridge and A Memory of Two Mondays (1955), After the Fall (1963), Incident at Vichy (1964), The Price (1968), The Creation of the World and Other Business (1972) and The American Clock. He has also written two novels, Focus (1945), and The Misfits, which was filmed in 1960, and the text for In Russia (1969), Chinese Encounters (1979), and In the Country (1977), three books of photographs by his wife, Inge Morath. More recent works include a memoir, Timebends (1987), and the plays The Ride Down Mt. Morgan (1991), The Last Yankee (1993), Broken Glass (1993), which won the Olivier Award for Best Play of the London Season, and Mr. Peter's Connections (1998). His latest book is On Politics and the Art of Acting. Miller was granted with the 2001 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. He has twice won the New York Drama Critics Circle Award, and in 1949 he was awarded the Pulitzer Prize.

Bibliographic information