Edgar Rice Burroughs' Minidoka: 937th Earl of One Mile

Front Cover
Dark Horse Comics, 1998 - Juvenile Fiction - 63 pages
0 Reviews
Dark Horse is proud to present an all-new tale by the Master of Adventure himself, Edgar Rice Burroughs! Written before the twin blockbusters A Princess of Mars and Tarzan of the Apes, Minidoka is a whimsical fantasy in the tradition of Jonathan Swift's Gulliver's Travels and Lewis Carroll's The Hunting of the Snark. Illustrated by fantasy and comics legend Michael Wm. Kaluta and featuring a never-before-published cover painting by J. Allen St. John, the book is sure to become a highly sought-after collectible!

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

3 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1998)

Edgar Rice Burroughs was born on September 1, 1875, in Chicago. His father, George Tyler was a distiller and a battery manufacturer. Early in life Burroughs attempted to support his family in a variety of occupations, including railroad policeman, business partner, and miner. None of these proved successful. However, Burroughs had always enjoyed reading adventure fiction and decided to try his hand at writing. His first attempt, written under the pseudonym Normal Bean, sold very quickly and Burroughs' career took off. Although critics and educators have not always been supportive of Burroughs' writing, the characters in his stories have entertained readers for many years. Tarzan was the most popular, earning Burroughs enough money to start his own publishing house and a motion picture company. Another character, John Carter, is the hero of Burroughs' Mars adventure series. The continuing popularity of these characters has led some critics to reconsider the value of Burroughs' writing and to acknowledge significant themes in his stories. Burroughs died on March 19, 1950.

Bibliographic information