End Game: Irrational Acts, Tragic Consequences

Front Cover
AuthorHouse, 2010 - Fiction - 192 pages
0 Reviews

"[I]t is the juxtaposition of factual and imaginary detail, real and fictitious characters, each underscored by footnotes or website research, that gives Theodore Cohen's work a "signature style" [that is] quite unique, enjoyable and thoroughly ingenious."
Gary Sorkin for "Pacific Book Review"

"End Game: Irrational Acts, Tragic Consequences," is Book III of the Antarctic Murders Trilogy. In many ways, it brings to an end three things: the sagas of Captain Roberto Munoz of the "Lientur," the hunt for the millions of dollars in U.S. and British cash, negotiable securities, gold coins, and jewelry stolen from the Banco Central de Chile following the Chilean Earthquake of May, 1960, and the murders that followed the robbery. Book I: "Frozen in Time: Murder at the Bottom of the World," introduced American scientists Ted Stone and Grant Morris, who, while performing geological and geophysical field work with the assistance of Captain Roberto Munoz of the Chilean auxiliary tug "Lientur," were caught up in the hunt for the robbers and the spoils from the robbery, and murder. "Unfinished Business: Pursuit of an Antarctic Killer," introduced Captain Mateo Valderas and Lieutenant-Commander Antonio Del Rio of the Chilean Navy's Office of Internal Affairs. Initially assigned to solve a murder in Arica, they soon found themselves facing perhaps the most vicious, cunning thief and murderer they ever encountered. The return of American scientists Ted Stone and Grant Morris to Santiago for the purpose of helping personnel of the University of Chile prepare for the 20th Chilean Expedition to the Antarctic, beginning in December 1965, jeopardizes the lives of both scientists. What irrational acts will elicit the tragic consequences that finally bring everything to an end? For the answer, read Book III: "End Game: Irrational Acts, Tragic Consequences."

"Cutting-edge drama and suspense, revealing characters through convincing dialog, provides the Antarctic Murders Trilogy with all the elements of award-winning, best-selling novels."
Richard Blake for "Readers Views"


What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Selected pages


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3
Section 4
Section 5
Section 6
Section 7
Section 8
Section 13
Section 14
Section 15
Section 16
Section 17
Section 18
Section 19
Section 20

Section 9
Section 10
Section 11
Section 12
Section 21
Section 22
Section 23

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

Theodore J. Cohen, PhD, holds three degrees in the physical sciences from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and has been an engineer and scientist for more than 40 years. From December 1961 through early March 1962, he participated in the 16th Chilean Expedition to the Antarctic. The U.S. Board of Geographic Names in October, 1964, named the geographical feature Cohen Islands, located at 63 18' S. latitude, 57 53' W. longitude in the Cape Legoupil area, Antarctica, in his honor.End Game: Irrational Acts, Tragic Consequences, is the final book (Book III) in the Antarctic Murders Trilogy describing what happened following the robbery of the Banco Central de Chile in Talcahuano in May, 1960. The robbery and what happened thereafter, primarily the events that took place between May 1960 and March 1962, are described inFrozen in Time: Murder at the Bottom of the World(Book I).Unfinished Business: Pursuit of an Antarctic Killer(Book II) reveals the events that unfolded between March 1962 and March 1965. Dr. Cohen has published more than 350 papers, articles, columns, essays, and interviews, and is a co-author ofTheNEWShortwave Propagation Handbook(from CQ Communications). His first novel,Full Circle: A Dream Denied, A Vision Fulfilled, which is based on life as a violinist, was published by AuthorHouse in 2009. Dr. Cohen is a violinist in the Bryn Athyn (PA) Orchestra and particularly enjoys the music of Gustav Mahler. His fourth novel,Death by Wall Street: Rampage of the Bulls, is a murder mystery, and it, too, was published by AuthorHouse in 2010.

Bibliographic information