Escape and the Man who Questions Death

Front Cover
Chinese University Press, 2007 - Drama - 114 pages
0 Reviews
"This collection contains two plays by Gao Xingjian, winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature 2000. Escape was written in 1989 in the wake of the June 4 Student Movement in Tiananmen Square in Beijing. With the publication ofo the play, Gao was expelled from the Chinese Communist Party, dismissed from his state appointment and ahd his house in Beijing confiscated. Perhaps because of this controversy, Escape has become the most performed of all of Gao's plays: it has been staged in Sweden, Germany, Belgium, France, Poland, Japan, Ivory Coast, Tunisia, and Canada. Wherever it was staged, it was given a locally relevant intepretation and was well received, which lends credence to Gao's claim of the universality of the play he describes as the tragedy of modern man. The Man Who Questions Death is the latest of Gao's plays. It is also one of the most exciting and powerful." -- Book jacket.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2007)

Gao Xingjian is the 2000 Nobel Laureate in Literature, the first time the Prize had been awarded for a body of work written in the Chinese language.

Gilbert C. F. Fong is currently professor and chairman in the Department of Translation at The Chinese University of Hong Kong.

Bibliographic information