Every Last Cuckoo: A Novel

Front Cover
Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 2008 - Fiction - 277 pages
21 Reviews
Sarah Lucas imagined the rest of her days would be spent living peacefully in her rural Vermont home in the steadfast company of her husband. But now, with Charles's sudden passing, seventy-five-year-old Sarah is left inconsolably alone.

As grief settles in, Sarah's mind lingers on her past: her imperfect but devoted fifty-year marriage to Charles; the years they spent raising their three very different children; and her childhood during the Great Depression, when her parents opened their home to countless relatives and neighbors. So, when a variety of wayward souls come seeking shelter in Sarah's own big, empty home, her past comes full circle. As this unruly flock forms a family of sorts, they--with Sarah--nurture and protect one another, all the while discovering their unsuspected strengths and courage.

In the tradition of Jane Smiley and Sue Miller, Kate Maloy has crafted a wise and gratifying novel about a woman who gracefully accepts a surprising new role just when she though her best years were behind her.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - nancynova - LibraryThing

We meet Sarah, just as her husband dies, then in part I learn more about her life - her marriage to Charlie, raising her kids, losing an infant and wonder now what. And in part II, she becomes like a ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - ChristineEllei - LibraryThing

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. An older couple are looking forward to living out their retirement years, when death suddenly changes the plans. A group of mismatched misfits move into their ... Read full review

Contents

Section 1
5
Section 2
12
Section 3
21
Copyright

25 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

Kate Maloy is the author of the memoir A Stone Bridge North: Reflections in a New Life. Her work has been published online in Literary Mama and VerbSap and in the Readerville Journal, the Kenyon Review, and the anthologies For Keeps and Choice. She lives with her husband on the central coast of Oregon. Author Web site: www.katemaloy.com.

Bibliographic information